THURSDAY 9/16

A Girl, In Parts
Jasmine Paul presents her first novel, about an adolescent girl wrestling with her conflicting impulses. In Other Words, 3734 SE Hawthorne Blvd, 232-6003, 7 pm

* Marjane Satrapi
In the tradition of Art Spiegelman, Craig Thompson, and other graphic novelists creating works with socially relevant themes and stories, Satrapi presents Persepolis 2, the sequel to her much-lauded book about oppression in Tehran. Powell's City of Books, 1005 W Burnside St., 228-4651, 7:30 pm

Margaret Weis
Basement dwellers crawl out of your caves. Weis has been one of the masterminds behind the Dragonlance fantasy series for 20 years. Powell's-Beaverton, 8725 SW Cascade Ave, 643-3131, 7 pm

* Maarten Troost
Troost's travel memoir, The Sex Lives of Cannibals, is misleading--there are no human flesh-eating savages contained therein. But there are the wacky inhabitants of a small tropical island, and Troost's vibrant, hilarious depictions of the two years he spent amongst them. Twenty-Third Avenue Books, 1015 NW 23rd Ave, 224-5097, 7:30 pm


SATURDAY 9/18

* Subterranean Beat Revival
The popular evening of spoken word and performance poetry switches to Saturday this week to host "poets for p:ear," a benefit the neat little p:ear gallery. Rabbit Hole, 203 SE Grand Ave, 231-2925, 9 pm

Chalk It Up for Literacy
An event promoting your kids to read, featuring face painters, literacy themed chalk art, readings of great stories, a marimba band, and food. South Park Blocks, SW Park & Salmon, 244-3898, 10 am - 2 pm, free


SUNDAY 9/19

* Krist Noveselic & Mark Andersen
See My What A Busy Week, pg. 25. Powell's City of Books, 1005 W Burnside St., 228-4651, 7:30 pm


MONDAY 9/20

Stephen Ducat
Ducat reads from The Wimp Factor, a fun-sounding exploration of how male anxiety has shaped political thinking and behavior. Annie Bloom's Books, 7834 SW Capitol Hwy, 246-0053, 7:30 pm

This is Burning Man
If you've ever wanted to know what Burning Man is really like, this book might be interesting enough to compel you to attend it... and then you'll know. Powell's Books on Hawthorne, 3723 SE Hawthorne Blvd, 238-1668, 7:30 pm

Tracy Kidder
Kidder presents In Mountains Beyond Mountains, the story of Dr. Paul Farmer, who has been living in Haiti for over 20 years, bringing his medical expertise to impoverished villages and setting up systems of community tuberculosis treatment that rival what America has to offer. Powell's City of Books, 1005 W Burnside St., 228-4651, 7:30 pm


TUESDAY 9/21

Cassandra Sagan
The local author shares from her political satire, No Chimp Left Behind, in which a human infant is switched with a hairless chimp, who then grows up to be our president. Subtle. Broadway Books, 1714 NE Broadway, 284-1726, 7 pm

Natalie Goldberg
The popular teacher and spiritualist shares her memoir The Great Failure, about her complicated relationship with her Zen teacher Katagiri Roshi. Powell's City of Books, 1005 W Burnside St., 228-4651, 7:30 pm


WEDNESDAY 9/22

* Arthur Phillips
See review this issue. Powell's City of Books, 1005 W Burnside St., 228-4651, 7:30 pm