Columbia Records announced this morning that a new Gossip album is on the way: A Joyful Noise comes out May 22, the first for the sometimes-local band since 2009's Music for Men. The new record was produced by Brian Higgins and was recorded both here in Portland at KBC Studios and at Higgins' Xenomania studio in the UK.

Of the new record, lead singer Beth Ditto says, "I spent the whole year listening to ABBA and not listening to the radio," but I think it's safe to say that the songs from A Joyful Noise will definitely find themselves on radio airwaves, especially in the UK where Gossip are one of the biggest bands around. The group—whose ranks also include guitarist Nathan Howdeshell and drummer Hannah Blilie—will be at SXSW on Thursday, March 15, for a performance that will be live-streamed here. A European tour will follow the album's release in May.

In the meantime, would you like to hear a song from A Joyful Noise? You are in luck. Here's the first single, "Perfect World." The album's full track listing appears after the jump, for those of you who like to stare at song titles (you know who you are, weirdos).

"Perfect World" by Gossip Music

GOSSIP - A Joyful Noise

1. Melody Emergency
2. Perfect World
3. Get A Job
4. Move In The Right Direction
5. Casualties of War
6. Into The Wild
7. Get Lost
8. Involved
9. Horns
10. I Won’t Play
11. Love In A Foreign Place