Pfork has the scoop on the brand new disc, Furr, from Blitzen Trapper. Due out September 23rd on Sub Pop (they are the Portland band not leaving the label) the album is the much anticipated follow-up to last year's Wild Mountain Nation.

Furr was largely conceived in the spare moments between Blitzen Trapper's exhaustive tours in the wake of their 2007 breakthrough Wild Mountain Nation, with songwriter/producer Eric Earley finding some inspiration in a tottering old piano the band found abandoned in a hallway and made its own.

That album cover looks like something I would have carved into my desk with my protractor. That is, if those jerks would have let me have sharp objects in the classroom. Which they did not. Now if you don't mind, I have to take out my safety pencil and write a note on this circle of paper.

Track listing:
1. Sleepytime in the Western World
2. Gold for Bread
3. Furr
4. God & Suicide
5. Fire & Fast Bullets
6. Saturday Nite
7. Black River Killer
8. Not Your Lover
9. Love U
10. War on Machines
11. Stolen Shoes & a Rifle
12. Echo/Always On/EZ Con
13. Lady on the Water