Some bands have a hard time keeping things fresh. They play out the same old schtick for years until everyone but their most devoted fans stops taking them seriously. Then, when they finally break up, no one really gives a shit (sorry R.E.M.). Guided by Voices, on the other hand, have a way of mixing things up with frequent lineup changes, innumerable side projects, and even a seven year breakup. In the time since their supposed "final" record, Half Smiles of the Decomposed, fans have only become more endeared to the band's lovable indie rock heroics. Guided by Voices has certainly aged well, but will they continue their good track record?

Looks like we're about to find out. Fresh off their year-long reunion tour, Guided by Voices have announced their plans to release their first new album in seven years. Let's Go Eat the Factory will feature the "classic lineup" of Pollard, Sprout, Demos, Mitchell, and Fennel—the same five that performed during the reunion tour; it will be the first record the lineup has recorded since the 1996 classic Under the Bushes, Under the Stars. So far, we know it is set to be released on January 1, 2012, but there isn't any word yet as to which label will release the material.

Scope the tracklist after the jump. Fuck, these guys have great song titles. I gotta say, "The Big Hat and Toy Show" looks pretty promising.

01 Laundry and Lasers
02 The Head
03 Doughnut for a Snowman
04 Spiderfighter
05 Hang Mr. Kite
06 God Loves Us
07 The Unsinkable Fats Domino
08 Who Invented the Sun
09 The Big Hat and Toy Show
10 Imperial Racehorsing
11 How I Met My Mother
12 Waves
13 My Europa
14 Chocolate Boy
15 The Things That Never Need
16 Either Nelson
17 Cyclone Utilities (Remember Your Birthday)
18 Old Bones
19 Go Rolling Home
20 The Room Taking Shape
21 We Won't Apologize for the Human Race