Morgan Geer performs Mystery Train at 2011s The Next Waltz
  • Mirifoto
  • Morgan Geer performs "Mystery Train" at 2011's The Next Waltz.
[UPDATE: This contest is closed and the winner has been notified.]

Last November, an army of Portland talent swarmed the Alberta Rose stage to recreate the Band's 1976 Thanksgiving farewell concert at San Francisco's Winterland—the concert that has lived in infamy from the film and album The Last Waltz. The Band assembled a remarkable lineup of guest performers to send them off (Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Muddy Waters, Van Morrison, Joni Mitchell, Neil "Fucking" Diamond), and the Portland recreation, dubbed "The Next Waltz," similarly boasted an all-star cast of local music talent.

This year, they're doing it again! Actually, this year they're doubling your pleasure, doing it for two back-to-back nights: Friday, November 23 and Saturday, November 24 at the Alberta Rose Theatre. The list of this year's performers is too staggering to mention casually, so I'll post the freakishly long lineup after the jump.

It's an insanely jammed bill of music, clearly a must-see show. Here's where it gets good: We've got a pair of tickets to give away for the Friday, November 23 show! All you have to do to win is send an email to this address with "The Next Waltz" in the subject line. Please include your first and last name, and to prove your true-blue Band fanhood, answer this Last Waltz related trivia question:

Which classic British band did not have one of its members turn up as a guest performer at the original Last Waltz?

A. The Beatles
B. The Rolling Stones
C. The Who
D. The Yardbirds

This contest will close Monday at noon, at which point we'll select a winner at random. Meanwhile, you can purchase regular tickets via the Alberta Rose website—Friday here, and Saturday here.

Click the jump to see the full Next Waltz lineup!

The Next Waltz 2012: Performers

Zak Borden (Brazillionaires)
Matt Brown (Storm Large)
Jim Brunberg (LiveWire!, Mississippi Studios)
Emily Butler (Music Arcade)
Calico Rose (Black Prairie, AgesAndAges)
Jenny Conlee-Drizos (The Decemberists, Black Prairie)
Darrin Craig (Jackstraw)
Michael Dean Damron (I Can Lick Any SOB in the House)
Kris Deelane (SweetJuice)
The Don of Division Street
Darka Dusty
Adam East (Adam & Kris, Celilo)
Morgan Geer (Drunken Prayer)
Dan Haley (Ed & The Boats)
Ezra Holbrook (Dr. Theopolis)
Miss Michael Jodell
Jerry Joseph (Jackmormons, Stockholm Syndrome)
Steve Kerin (Atomic Gumbo)
James Low
Joe McMurrian (Woodbrain)
Mike Midlo (Pancake Breakfast)
Casey Neill
Larry Oxley
JR Pella (Black Angel, Fatman)
Kevin & Anita Robinson (Viva Voce, Blue Giant)
Ron Rogers
Jeff Rosenberg
BigE Schweiterman (Sugarcane, Ashbury Park)
Adam Sweeney
Jeremy Wilson (Dharma Bums)
Christopher Worth (NIAYH)

House Bands:
Lewi Longmire and the Crackers
and featuring
Paul Brainard & The Portland Horns