• photo by Janet Weiss
Modern Kin is a new band with old souls. Perhaps it's easier, if you haven't been introduced, to refer to them as the next incarnation of Drew Grow and the Pastors' Wives. That four-piece was one of the most adventurous and rewarding Portland bands, in my opinion; the three members of Modern Kin are very much continuing that thread.

Fronted again by Drew Grow (and backed by Kris Doty and Jeremiah Hayden), Modern Kin's first album under their new moniker is right around the corner. The self-titled Modern Kin was produced by Janet Weiss—her first production credit—and was recorded at Sacramento's Hangar before that space left to join the great recording studio in the sky. It's 12 tracks of strange and altogether uncertain passion... not that the passion is tentative or apprehensive, mind you, just that it's passion amid the uncertainty of life itself.

Take a listen to the opening track, "Abandon," a firestorm/litany that's both homespun and far out.

The album comes out October 22 on Amigo/Amiga Recordings, and you can view an album trailer here, and pre-order it here. I'll post the album cover and track list after the jump. While it seems strange and a little sad not to have Drew Grow and the Pastors' Wives around anymore, Modern Kin seems more than capable of filling the void.


Out October 22, Amigo/Amiga [pre-order here]

1. Abandon
2. Unannounced
3. Pony
4. Wicked Crush
5. Modern Skin
6. 40 Winks
7. Groundwire
8. Barnburner
9. Big Enough to Cook
10. Sooner or Later
11. Congratulations Lack Earth
12. What Did You Eat