Just in time for Father's Day, Menomena has announced the details of their upcoming album: Moms. I don't know what is going on in that press photo above, but they sent it in, and you can be damn sure we're going to run with it.

Moms is the Portland band's fifth album, and their first as a duo after Brent Knopf departed the band following the release of 2010's Mines. Justin Harris and Danny Seim recorded the entire record by themselves, splitting songwriting chores down the middle by each contributing five songs apiece. There are some new sounds here for Menomena, including flute, cello, more synths, and the clickety-clack of tap dancing on track "Don't Mess with Latexas."

If Moms seems like a jokey title, there's serious material at heart here, as the press release explains:

Seim explored the death of his mother when he was but a teenager, while Harris investigated the way his own family dynamic - a single mom, with a departed dad - left indelible impressions on everything he's done since. The album's pieces connect, then, addressing how people must rise to face or flee circumstances beyond their control. It's perhaps the most appropriately imaginable prompt for a band whose last two years have depended upon their ability to explore, adapt and improve.

We've got the cover image and tracklisting for you after the jump; meanwhile, take a look at the album trailer, which offers a tantalizing glimpse into the sounds of Moms. Menomena plays MusicfestNW on September 7, just a couple short weeks before Moms' release, on September 18 on Barsuk Records.


Moms Tracklisting:
1. Plumage
2. Capsule
3. Pique
4. Baton
5. Heavy Is As Heavy Does
6. Giftshoppe
7. Skintercourse
8. Tantalus
9. Don't Mess With Latexas
10. One Horse